July Prayer for Peace

past the trees

“May Your lovingkindnesses also come to me, O LORD, Your salvation according to Your word;” – Psalm 119:41

Good day to you, fellow seekers of truth,

I hope this post finds you well!

I was lead to share the following prayer for the July Prayer for Peace. As I was reading through it the song ‘Kumbaya, My Lord’ was singing in my head.  I know there is no coincidence that this song was running through my head as I read the July Prayer for Peace, as ‘kumbaya’ in Gullah means ‘come by here’ (I didn’t know that before today).  Below is the prayer that I was given:

“Come Lord,

Work on us,

Set us on fire and clasp us close,

Be fragrant to us,

draw us to Your Love,

Let us run to You.” – St. Augustine of Hippo

This prayer means so very much to me.  This is my interpretation:  I’m inviting the Lord into my life to work on me.  I want Him to give me passion for Him and protection.  I want to be able to notice His sweet loving Presence all day, every day.  If there ever are moments that I find tribulation or celebration then I will not even have to think to come to Him first.

I have discovered through my experiences that I can TRUST in God and all He does for me.  If there ever is a moment that I cannot find peace by myself then I call on the Lord to help me see “past the trees”.

What does this prayer mean to you?  

With Love,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

