Sharing in Abundance

abundance

“The good person out of the good treasure of the heart produces good, and the evil person out of evil treasure produces evil; for it is out of the abundance of the heart that the mouth speaks.” – Luke 6:45

Hello WordPress Family,

A BIG thank you to everyone who not only reads my posts but also gives service by writing your own. Your posts hold beauty and meaning that leave me in awe. As such, I am very grateful to be a part of a community that knows how to celebrate God and His Creation.

During worship this week, there were a couple of words that kept surfacing in my mind that I chose not to share with the group.

Why did I not share?

Let me explain. God has been working with me on discernment. I thought yesterday was a good day to practice discernment with my thoughts during worship. However, at the end of worship I was still left in confusion as whether or not I should share these words. I now realize that God is not only working on my discernment but also progression.

Well, today, I am left with a passion to write to you as I am still thinking about the words and the meaning they have. I figure, the words must be important if I am still pondering over them.

So, here I go sharing in abundance…The two words that have been placed into my thoughts are “discoveries” and “insecurities”.

I was given the word ‘discoveries’ during the first half of the meeting and ‘insecurities’ during the second.

These words produced the following thoughts:

Lately, I have been making many discoveries. My discoveries do not seem to distract me as much as my ability to only use my intellect to dissect these discoveries. I center in on these discoveries to find out what makes them tick. In the end, it causes me to be rather confused and left with more questions than in the beginning. I sense that in order to have a close connection with God that I must use my whole being to honor these discoveries rather than just using a part of what makes me Brooke.

So, from this point, I will try to pay positive attention to not only my intellect but also my body, mind, environment, soul, emotions and spiritual awareness. All in the hopes that I will be able to be a appercipient to God and all of His Creation.

Okay, on to the next word: ‘insecurities’. I started hearing the word ‘insecurities’ towards the end of worship. I felt that insecurities really do pull me away from experiencing God. Yesterday being the perfect example. I was too insecure to share these words during worship because I wasn’t quite sure if they held meaning to the group as a whole. I was practicing discernment but only using my intellect to make the choice not to share. If I had listen to my body, mind, emotions, soul or environment then I would have shared.

So, how did I decide that these words were best to share today? Well, by paying close attention to my emotions as I was having a burning urge to get these words out to you and my worship group. Also, my body passively vibrates/shakes–for a lack of a better word–when I have an untold message. And, now, writing this message out to you is causing my soul to sing. 🙂

Overall, what did I discover? My choice to not share these words with my worship group yesterday was a way that distracted me from God as we are all a part of Creation and Him. I also have to say that I feel attached–out of comfort–to the way I have processed choices in the past. However, I have this feeling that I need to seek comfort within vulnerability in order to grow and tap into the power of God.

Whew! Feels good to share. I am now being reminded of a quote from Maya Angelou, “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”

Did I send this message out to my worship group this morning?  You bet I did!!

Thank you for reading.

With Love,
Brooke

Leave a Reply

