Asking for Help

ask

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.” – Matthew 7:7-8

Happy Thursday, Everyone!!!

Yesterday was a pretty good day besides the unexpected snow flurries.  I swore I saw Spring pop her beautiful head in last weekend.  My guess is that Winter is having a hard time of letting go of the upper Midwest.  We are very hospitable.  🙂

Yesterday. Yesterday I had a beautiful morning with my children.  I cleaned my house with help.  So nice to be able to provide a clean house for my family.  Early in the afternoon I dropped my five year old off at preschool and my two year old decided to take an unexpected afternoon nap.  I was alone.  Not physically but no one was demanding my attention at the moment.  I was able to have some personal time.  What did that feel like, really?!  I spent that time gazing out into the forest conserve in our backyard, as well as writing part of an essay for a program that I am interested in applying.  Marvelous time.  I rarely get time to myself these days until after bedtime.


Wow, what a relaxing day.  It felt like a gift from God.


Later, I picked up my son from preschool.  He ended up not wanting to leave and made a huge and embarrassing scene over it.  He went into a complete rage.  It was very unlike him almost as if someone took over his body/mind/spirit.  I’ve never seen him like that before.  I was hopelessly scared over what I witnessed.  He continued this newfound behavior on the car ride home and when we settle at home.  I tried talking to him but he seemed too upset to make words.  I honestly didn’t understand what was going on with him.

It was at that moment that I decided to ask God for help.  I said, “God, Heavenly Father, I don’t know what to do with my son.  He seems to be very upset over something.  He needs to be comforted and I cant seem to help.  Please, please, help me help him.”

Right after I said those last words, “help him” I saw a crystal-like half halo float down over my son.  As this halo floated over him, the expression on his face went from anger/sadness to one of comfort and release.  It was amazing to witness.  I can’t explain what happened but he came over to me and gave me a hug and apologized.

We were able to talk about his behavior, my reaction and a resolution.  We were back to what was normal in our household.

So, what happened to him at preschool?  I don’t have the slightest idea.  My only thought is that he picked up someone’s negative energy ( maybe an attachment?).  I guess, in the end, it doesn’t really matter. What matters most is that I asked God for help and He answered.  He always answers.

My conclusion: We cannot live on human nutrients alone.  We need God to provide us with spiritual nutrients as well.  Seems like my son’s spirit was haltered in a way that day, and all he needed was some help from God to be released/restored to his original happy go-lucky self.

Thank you for reading.

Love,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

